Start Here. Go Anywhere.

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: Advancing through Experience

Posted on: March 14, 2011

Joanna Danielak completed her studies at Cerritos College in spring 2010. She transferred to UCLA in fall 2010, where she is majoring in English.

The good, the bad, and the ugly.  It’s more than a movie.

The good: I had to turn in an annotated bibliography for my Native American Literary Studies class, which happened to totally kick butt thanks to Professor Clifford at Cerritos College, whose nitpickiness has left me with the skills necessary to create a virtually flawless annotated bibliography.  Thank-you!

The bad: I am currently working on an essay on Shakespeare due this Wednesday, a draft for an essay contrasting Native American works due Monday, a finished French paper due Tuesday, and a yet undetermined essay due for my Politics of Language class due sometime in the future.  And of course, assigned readings are not to be neglected.

The ugly: I got back my corrected Shakespeare midterm today.  It was not pretty (hence the ugly).  I’ve heard that the Shakespeare classes are some of the most challenging available to English majors, and this professor has written the book (literally); so it is understandable that he would be one of the toughest professors teaching this subject.  For anyone who would like an idea of what this class is like, I strongly suggest taking Professor Mixson’s Shakespeare course at Cerritos.  I admit, the quizzes he gives at the start of every class begin to feel tedious after awhile, but they become ridiculously invaluable in the long run.  The same system applies to the class I am currently taking; only, the quizzes take place about a week or two after the book is supposed to have been read.  And they include questions from the supplemental reading.  And they can quote any part of the play (sometimes two).  So yeah, take Mixson’s class and don’t complain about the workload if you’ve got your sights set on becoming an English major at UCLA.

This week, I’m feeling very thankful for the teachers I’ve had at Cerritos.  Had they not attempted to discipline me as they did, I’m pretty certain that I would be doing absolutely horrendously in all my classes.  I’m a big believer in going to teachers’ office hours for help – it clarifies the assignments and they recognize you as a student who cares about their education.  I suppose this is something I’m having problems with now.  My teachers have office hours exactly during my other classes, in which case, email seems to be the only way to get their attention.  I’m still unsure of whether or not I like this manner of corresponding.  If anything, it’s just new; I’m so used to informal computer correspondence that I keep accidentally typing out maniacal “hahaha’s” and emoticons (probably not appreciated in the world of academia).

Back to the iFALCON home page.

1 Response to "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly: Advancing through Experience"

wow…after reading this blog it really shows how dedicated you are with your studies and it really motivates me to do the same. There are some things that are good when achieving your goals and there are also obstacles that come. Keeping in touch with the professor is something i really do believe helps the most, especially when you miss something or need help in some thing you didnt understand. Going to school is really like a movie; there’s interesting parts, boring times, and exciting moments…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

image of Transfer Center logo

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 5,036 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

